✓ Related to Books DevotionEbook By Adam Makos – groundhogwalking.co.uk

Devotion For readers of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat comes an unforgettable tale of courage from America s forgotten war in Korea, by the New York Times bestselling author of A Higher CallDevotion tells the inspirational story of the U.S Navy s most famous aviator duo Lieutenant Tom Hudner, a white New Englander from the country club scene, and Ensign Jesse Brown, an African American sharecropper s son from Mississippi Tom passed up Harvard to fly fighter planes for his country Jesse became the navy s first black carrier pilot to defend a nation that wouldn t even serve him in a bar While much of America remained divided by segregation, Jesse and Tom joined forces as wingmen in Fighter Squadron 32 Adam Makos takes us into the cockpit as these bold young aviators cut their teeth at the world s most dangerous job landing on the deck of an aircraft carrier a line of work that Jesse s young wife, Daisy, struggles to accept Then comes the war no one expected, in faraway Korea Devotion brings us into the foxholes with U.S Marines and soaring overhead with Tom and Jesse as they battle a North Korean invasion As the fury of the fighting escalates, Tom and Jesse fly, guns blazing, to save a Marine division cornered at the Chosin Reservoir and outnumbered ten to one When one of the duo is shot down behind enemy lines and pinned in his burning plane, the other faces an unthinkable choice watch his friend die or attempt history s most audacious one man rescue mission A tug at the heartstrings tale of bravery and selflessness, Devotion asks How far would you go to save a friend From the Hardcover edition. Download Devotion – groundhogwalking.co.uk

    10 thoughts on “✓ Related to Books DevotionEbook By Adam Makos – groundhogwalking.co.uk

  1. This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers To view it, click here Devotion An Epic Story of Heroism, Friendship, and Sacrifice.My thoughts on this book are rather long, because of the emotions that it has stirred in me Pride of the fighting men, grief for their losses and happiness for the good that came from it.This is a true story about men fighting in the Korean War, the forgotten war It s called th...

  2. FIVE STARS OF PROFOUND EXCELLENCE Historically enthralling and biographically compelling Far and above, Devotion An Epic Story of Heroism, Friendship, and Sacrifice is the best book I ve read this year non fiction or otherwise bar none Reads like fiction, but is one hundred percent authentically true, honoring American heroism, brotherhood, unity, and service It is so many things engagingly readable, human interest encapsulating, suspense riveting, superbly written, meticulou FIVE STARS OF PROFOUND EXCELLENCE Historically enthralling and biographically compelling Far and above, Devotion An Epic Story of Heroism, Friendship, and Sacrifice is the best book I ve read this year non fiction or otherwise bar none Reads like fiction, but is one hundred percent authentically true, honoring American heroism, brotherhood, unity, and service It is so many things engagingly readable, human interest encapsulating, suspense riveting, superbly written, meticulously researched, and editorially flawless More than anything, it is a story of friendship, sacrifice, and love Love of country Love of brotherhood Love bound through matrimony, family, and life I didn t simply read this book I experienced it I truly felt like I was embedded among the ground troops, in the air, on the sea, rubbing elbows with Elizabeth Taylor in the French Rivera, shivering in the brutal cold of Chosin, carrying the w...

  3. I have been given an opportunity to review the book Devotion An Epic Story of Heroism, Friendship, and Sacrifice by Adam Makos I read this 420 book in two days, day one was while I was receiving my infusion of Rituximab Devotion inspired me It melted my heart It gave me an adventure to be a part of I deeply enjoyed reading about the friendship of Tom Hudner and Jesse Brown during the Korean War as pilots I enjoyed reading the other stories of friendship between the soldiers of the war I have been given an opportunity to review the book Devotion An Epic Story of Heroism, Friendship, and Sacrifice by Adam Makos I read this 420 book in two days, day one was while I was receiving my infusion of Rituximab Devotion inspired me It melted my heart It gave me an adventure to be a part of I deeply enjoyed reading about the friendship of Tom Hudner and Jesse Brown during the Korean War as pilots I enjoyed reading the other stories of friendship between the soldiers of the war What captivating...

  4. I shed tears through the entire book Such nobility and bravery makes one proud to be a part of the greatest country in the world Adam Makos is one of my favorite modern authors He takes history and it s characters and creates a beautiful story of what it means to be American.

  5. Look out and there s an even better military aviation history book in town This book follows the world s forgotten war in Korea and balances fascinating history, firsthand accounts, real life characters and action perfectly.Meet Jesse Brown, history s first black aircraft carrier pilot and supreme badass This book largely focuses on his experience growing up poor in the racist deep south to becoming one of the first black officers and pilots during the Korean War, but also interweaves the st Look out and there s an even better military aviation history book in town This book follows the world s forgotten war in Korea and balances fascinating history, firsthand accounts, real life characters and action perfectly.Meet Jesse Brown, history s first black aircraft carrier pilot and supreme badass This book largely focuses on his experience growing up poor in the racist deep south to becoming one of the first black officers and pilots during the Korean War, but also interweaves the stories of a Medal of Honour recipient, a medic heavy weapons dude, and a guy who turned aside an offer from the Red Sox to join the Marines The bo...

  6. Please excuse me on my not so very organised review as I ve been crying my eyes out for the last 10 minutesI have come to a conclusion I will read ANYTHING written by this man Adam Makos is an ingenious writer, journalist and researcher He and his teams unbelievable and relentless dedication to their work speaks throughout this book and their other books First of all even though I m a history buff, I knew next to nothing about the korean war, which I suppose gives truth to its other names Please excuse me on my not so very organised review as I ve been crying my eyes out for the last 10 minutesI have come to a conclusion I will read ANYTHING written by this man Adam Makos is an ingenious writer, journalist and researcher He and his teams unbelievable and relentless dedication to thei...

  7. I was engaged in finishing a fine book of historical fiction set during the closing months of the American Civil War when Devotion appeared in my mail box It sat on my book shelf unopened for at least another 10 days before I finished the other book and finally had a chance to crack the cover of this one If I had known what I was in for by reading this book I would have dropped the other one mid way through and devoured this one The other book was very good and commendable, but this one wil I was engaged in finishing a fine book of historical fiction set during the closing months of the American Civil War when Devotion appeared in my mail box It sat on my book shelf unopened for at least another 10 days before I finished the other book and finally had a chance to crack the cover of this one If I had known what I was in for by reading this book I would have dropped the other one mid way through and devoured this one The other book was very good and commendable, but this one will, I hope be on everyone s fall rea...

  8. I was a lucky winner in Goodreads to receive this brilliantly written book This book was an amazing read taking us on a journey through the lives of these brave men Taking us on the real journey of the Korean War and what they went through Thank you so much for ...

  9. A wonderfully researched historical read about friendships that cross barriers during a time in America s history when there were racial barriers First book I ve ever read about the Korean War I learned so much and appreciated all the footnotes...

  10. The story of fighter pilots flying ground support missions in Korea during the forgotten war, the story is really about two unlikely friends and a great sacrifice A New Englander whose father was a well respected merchant and his friend, a son of a Mississippi sharecropper who became one of the first five African American officers in the Marine Corps, developed a relationship while being stationed stateside in 1949, and that friendship continued on their tour of duty on the USS Leyte, a smal The story of fighter pilots flying ground support missions in Korea during the forgotten war, the story is really about two unlikely friends and a great sacrifice A New Englander whose father was a well respected merchant and his friend, a son of a Mississippi sharecropper wh...