✓ Publishers The House at RivertonKindle By Kate Morton – groundhogwalking.co.uk

The House at Riverton The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it s the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death, and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all.The novel is full of secrets some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier It s also a meditation on memory and the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history. Download The House at Riverton – groundhogwalking.co.uk

    10 thoughts on “✓ Publishers The House at RivertonKindle By Kate Morton – groundhogwalking.co.uk

  1. I probably would have enjoyed Kate Morton s debut novel The House at Rivertonif I had not already experienced the greater expression of her writing talent in The Forgotten Garden Riverton shares many of the themes of her later work, but with the narrator at a greater remove from the focus of the story, it tends to make her characterizations a bit flat The story of the Hartford family, focused on the sisters Hannah and Emmeline is told by Grace, a servant to the family for many years Her I probably would have enjoyed Kate Morton s debut novel The House at Rivertonif I had not already experienced the greater expression of her writing talent in The Forgotten Gar...

  2. An enjoyable story and a beautiful historical setting marred by clumsy story telling, overbearing foreshadowing, and an emotional disconnect with characters.

  3. Whooshing like a wind through a tunnel, an angry wind that drags behind it a summer storm, rushing towards me, faster and faster It is my past, and it is coming for me It is everywhere in my ears, behind my eyes, pushing my ribs Grace is 98 years old and living in a nursing facility when a visit from a young film producer compels her to relive her past a past that is full of secrets that she has kept to herself for the last seventy years Her story begins pre World War I in England, when aWhooshing like a wind through a tunnel, an angry wind that drags behind it a summer storm, rushing towards me, faster and faster It is my past, and it is coming for me It is everywhere in my ears, behind my eyes, pushing my ribs Grace is 98 years old and living in a nursing facility when a visit from a young film producer compels her to relive her past a past that is full of secrets that she has kept to herself for the last seventy years Her story begins pre World War I in England, when at the age of fourteen Grace secures a position as housemaid at Riverton House It was a time of prosperity and vitality for the inhabitants of Riverton, and Grace relishes her new position She quickly becomes fascinated by Hannah and Emmeline, granddaughters to her employer Lady Violet and daughters to Master Frederick Hartford When she discovers The Game the sisters share with their...

  4. The House at Riverton tells the story of a Manor House in Essex during WW1 and the beginning of the 1920s, told from the perspective of a housemaid, now 98 and living in an old people s home in 1999 When she finds out that a film is being made of a tragic event at the house the suicide of a young poet who fought in the war she recounts her memories leading up to that night, and the part she played in it.Of course, the story is not as simple as that, and many secrets have been kept for almos The House at Riverton tells the story of a Manor House in Essex during WW1 and the beginning of the 1920s, told from the perspective of a housemaid, now 98 and living in an old people s home in ...

  5. I wanted to read this book because it looked as if it had a lot of elements I really enjoy Gothic type mystery, haunted house, family secrets, World War I, the 1920s The book concerns sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, aristocratic children who grow up over the course of the book They chafe at the constraints of their class and find themselves floundering in the chaos of the 1920s The other main character in the book is the narrator Grace, a housemaid at Riverton She has her own unique c I wanted to read this book because it looked as if it had a lot of elements I really enjoy Gothic type mystery, haunted house, family secrets, World War I, the 1920s The book concerns sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, aristocratic children who grow up over the course of the book They chafe at the constraints of their class and find themselv...

  6. This book is a must read for lovers of historical novels and enthralling, well written, atmospheric mysteries, The House at Riverton is a literary feast for those who love writers like Margaret Atwood, Ian McEwan or Daphne DuMaurier and books reminiscent of The Forsythe Saga, Upstairs,Downstairs and Water for Elephants In this page turner of a novel, beautifully written and evocative of the era in England prior to and after World War 1, the author succeeds in weaving a complex tale of passion, This book is a must read for lovers of historical novels and enthralling, well written, atmospheric mysteries, The House at Riverton is a literary feast for those who love writers like Margaret Atwood, Ian McEwan or Daphne DuMaurier and books reminiscent of The Forsythe Saga, Upstairs,Downstairs and Water for Elephants In this page turner of a novel, beautifully written and evocative of the era in England prior to and after World War 1, the author succeeds in weaving a complex tale of passion, jealousy and intrigue utilizing the past memories of 98 year old Grace Bradley and the secret she has jealously guarded for over 60 years This jigsaw puzzle of a tale cleverly takes the various, seemingly insignificant, strands of Graces life and plaits them with the lives of other members of the Riverton household to form a lusterous braid with a couple of astonishing twist...

  7. I wanted to like this High drama and love triangles at the country estate of a rich family during the Edwardian era all ending in the famous suicide on the family estate of a post war poet What could go wrong Well, as it turns out, it could feel like a cobbled together collection of Upstairs Downstairs stereotypes, played out female character archetypes, and plot twists and sub plots that, after lots of set up, amount to very little Also, the book is told in flashbacks, and there were str I wanted to like this High drama and love triangles at the country estate of a rich family during the Edwardian era all ending in the famous suicide on the family estate of a post war poet What could go wrong Well, as it turns out, it could feel like a cobbl...

  8. This was a good historical read, it has a double story going on for the main character I liked the good ending.

  9. I had such high hopes Our heroine, Grace, now a feisty but failing 98, spent her early life at Riverton House in the service of the Ashbury familyand then spent her adult life trying to forget about them However, she s contacted by a filmmaker about the mysterious suicide of a World War I poet that occurred at the estate back in 1924 Is the set of the Riverton drawing room accurate What was it like being a housemaid Does Grace...

  10. Me gust much simo este libro Amo el estilo de escritura de Kate Morton, y en este se lo puede apreciar al m ximo Las fotograf as nos obligan a contemplar a las personas antes de que su destino las abrume, antes de que conozcan su final.La historia empieza un poco lenta me cost engancharme En algunas partes tambi n se me hizo un poco pesado Sin embargo, la prosa, el marco y los personajes me hicieron mantenerme sumergido en las ...